Sponsorship/ Group Worries... Feeling disconnected from the fellowship. Really need help

Most of us who recovered with AA's program did so with the help of a "sponsor". But what is sponsorship? How do I get one? Who can be a sponsor? What makes a good sponsor?
AnonAddict
Forums Newcomer

Sponsorship/ Group Worries... Feeling disconnected from the fellowship. Really need help

Post by AnonAddict »

Hi All, I've been coming to AA and another fellowship for a few years, I've had periods of abstinence and recovery... but seems that my thinking will always lead me back to that first drink/ use up... I'm young frightened and just not sure what to do. I'm in my early days week 2 after a 3 day relapse over new years so this just may be the resentments/ fears/ mad head of a newcomer. I've already had tests, and done the suggestions despite my thinking... I have been feeling different and I just want to give it my all this time. I was suggested to go to these groups in London from a friend who said they had strong recovery, I understood these were known for having quite strict sponsorship and most of the people that were in these group fell from the same sponsorship line. Anyway, cut a long story short, I went to the meeting first time and loved it... many of them were obviously practising tradition 5 as it was all sharing for the newcomer. I got identification and was 12 stepped so I got a sponsor... He gave me a list of 6 suggestions (call newcomers, gratitude list, pray in morning and night, call sponsor everyday, read 2 pages of the big book, get two homegroups) If I don't do these things, or miss my time to call my sponsor I get a bit of a kicking i've heard of sponsors dropping there sponsees for not doing how they did it which was starting with the suggestions.