Desperate for advice

Got an issue with someone or something? Want to whine a little? Here's the place to do it, or to get to know folks, or ask those questions that don't fit anywhere else.
Spigs
Forums Newcomer

Desperate for advice

Post by Spigs » Thu May 05, 2016 11:32 pm

Hi,
I'm six months sober and am loving my sobriety. I have got sober in a very small regional town, my home group has 6 members. I'm a high school teacher, and love my job and working with kids.

Another member of my group is a single parent. She has been in the rooms for almost 10 years. Recently she bought her daughter to our meeting. While she doesn't join in, she is in the same room, just to the edge. We sit around a table. She can hear what goes on. Her daughter is in the year level that I teach at school. I was shattered because I value my anonymity. A few other members approached this member after the meeting to see if she'd thought about the fact I teach her daughter. She just shrugged it off.

It happened again 2 weeks later. I could barely function in the meeting. I spoke to my sponsor about feeling like I've been walking on a knife edge. I'm not embarrassed about my alcoholism. I am fearful of sharing my stories or thoughts in front of a student.

We decided to put it on the agenda of our conscience meeting. It was last night. The member lost her temper, blamed the whole thing on me. Even though every other member had expressed reservations about a young adolescent being present. The member, while screaming told me to not come to the meeting anymore, I should travel to the ones in our next town. She was trying to intimidate me. She ended the night by screaming "F you all" and leaving. It took all the power I had not to retaliate in anger.

I've gone over the events in my head (over and over and over) I'm trying not to let the resentment towards her build.