Where do I fit in?

Got an issue with someone or something? Want to whine a little? Here's the place to do it, or to get to know folks, or ask those questions that don't fit anywhere else.
kittypineapple
Forums Newcomer

Where do I fit in?

Post by kittypineapple » Fri Mar 18, 2016 11:38 pm

Hello lovely people-
I am a former addict and have been off of heroin and meth for about 2 years. I took methadone to get off of heroin and was on it for 4 years. I switched from methadone to subutex and have been on that for about a year. I am getting off of subutex finally. My life has completely stabilized and turned around. I am in school and have 2 jobs. I have not been attending meetings in this whole time. I drink alcohol (wine and very rarely beer) occasionally. Maybe once a month, more or less..never more than a couple glasses. I do not feel the urge to drink if something goes wrong in my life. I drink on special occasions or with a nice dinner. I am a chef in training and enjoy wine and food pairing. Anyway, I have started to attend meetings because I am tapering off of subutex and my doctor suggested that I have extra support. I am wondering if I should completely stop drinking? I feel like in these meetings I might be looked down on because of my situation. I don't think I have a problem with it but it seems like if I want to go to meetings and be involved with NA and have a sponsor that I would not be allowed to have my occasional drink. It's not a very big deal in my personal life, but professionally it could be. I wonder if I am just lying to myself and playing around with a loaded gun. I feel like maybe I am being that person who thinks that they are different and these rules of addiction don't apply to me. I would never feel comfortable bringing this up at meeting level. What do you all think?

Robert R
Forums Contributor

Re: Where do I fit in?

Post by Robert R » Sat Mar 19, 2016 2:12 am