How do I help my atheist sponsee?

Most of us who recovered with AA's program did so with the help of a "sponsor". But what is sponsorship? How do I get one? Who can be a sponsor? What makes a good sponsor?

How do I help my atheist sponsee?

Postby Preacher » Sun Apr 15, 2018 9:29 am

I agreed to sponsor a member some months ago and we've been working through the book since. This is my first time to sponsor someone. At the outset I asked him to read pages 86-87. He'd already been around for a while and told me that he'd read pages 87-87 before and was praying every night and morning. I assumed therefore that he had no trouble with the Higher Power idea and had a faith of some kind and we proceeded on that basis.

We've been working through the Steps and - I thought - making good progress all along. Recently we did his inventory and he's been working through his amends. However now it turns out that in fact he's an atheist and doesn't believe in a God of any kind. Consequently he's had problems with Step 7 which seemingly didn't arise when we actually did Step 7, but now he has resentments he can't deal with and doesn't know what to do.

I don't know where to go with this guy now. I myself have a faith and have never had any problem praying or asking my Higher Power for help and trusting I'll get it. My own sponsor moved away from my home town and is very difficult to get hold of for advice. I feel stupid for not having spotted beforehand that this guy doesn't have a faith although to be fair he's never made it all that clear even when we did Step 3. How do I help him with his resentments when he doesn't believe in turning them over to God?
Preacher
Forums Newcomer

Re: How do I help my atheist sponsee?

Postby tomsteve » Sun Apr 15, 2018 10:56 am

i suggest having him, and yourself,too, read the chapter,"we agnostics."