Hi. My name is Merl and I'm an alcoholic

New to AA? Got questions? Here's the place to ask. Note that no one person speaks "officially" for AA. AA meetings in your local area are always the best source of information. Note that anyone may post and reply to messages in this forum.
Merl
Forums Enthusiast

Hi. My name is Merl and I'm an alcoholic

Post by Merl »

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this entire program and forum. I am currently on my third day of sobriety. I know that doesn't sound like much, but for me it seems like a lifetime. I'm staying focused and keeping myself busy. When I have the urge to have a drink I select something like water, tea, decaf coffee or ginger ale. I then pick up the Big Book and sip my non alcoholic beverage and remain focused. Thank you for this opportunity to share. I hope I did ok.

leejosepho
Forums Old Timer

Re: Hi. My name is Merl and I'm an alcoholic

Post by leejosepho »

Welcome, Merl, and that all sounds great to me!

Our book describes what we call "a sufficient substitute" for alcohol (page 152), so keep reading and ask any questions that come up.
=======================
"We A.A.s do not *stay* away from drinking [one day at a
time] -- we *grow* away from drinking [one day at a time]."
("Lois Remembers", page 168, quoting Bill, emphasis added)
=======================

Merl
Forums Enthusiast

Post by Merl »

leejosepho wrote:Welcome, Merl, and that all sounds great to me!

Our book describes what we call "a sufficient substitute" for alcohol (page 152), so keep reading and ask any questions that come up.
Thank you. That was my first post. As I'm responding to your post, my hands are actually shaking, nervous. I just don't want to mess up this great opportunity. I am so grateful to not have to through this alone.

ezdzit247
Forums Old Timer

Post by ezdzit247 »

Merl wrote:Hi everyone,